20 Before 20 [Updated for the last time until I turn 20!]

First posted 17 May 2011.
Updated 12 July 2011.
Updated 12 September 2011– last update before I turn 20!

I can’t believe I’ll be 20 in less than a month. Sometimes I feel like a child; sometimes I feel so much older than I am…

I’m an avid blog reader. A trend I’ve noticed is variations on the bucket list. Since setting goals can be both fun and inspiring, I’ve decided to give it a go! With less than 5 months 3 months to go until I turn 20, I want to take a crack at completing a 20 Before 20 list: 20 goals to achieve before I turn 20 this October.

1   Visit Kamen (my boyfriend) in Florida (preferably more than once, of course!!).

2   Begin treatment for PCOS and Anemia– + start to feel better!!
I’m exhausted all the time. It sucks! Time for something to change. I’m working on it.

3   Acquire an authentic “boyfriend shirt”!! ♥
Poor Kamen. Fortunately, I’ve already warned him that I intend to raid his closet… (: He’s really too good to me.

4   Get some awesome “fidget toys” to help me with my Trichotillomania.
I’m going to post about this soon!


5   Drink champagne with raspberries, in the bathtub.

6   Get my high school diploma.
Thanks to my medical issues, I’ve missed a lot of classes and lost some credits. I am determined to get that diploma!

7   Make frybread.
I had no idea of my Native roots, growing up. Most of my background, for that matter, simply wasn’t talked about (see number 9). Time for that to change!

8   Take myself out to a fancy restaurant.

9   Learn about my heritage and begin mapping out a my maternal family tree.
I’ve started this one.


10  Go camping with Chana, Tush and Shu (my three best friends, aka the gorgeous girls pictured above).

11  Visit Mimico.
I’ve always wanted to…

12  See Jason Webley + The Birthday Massacre + Sick Puppies live (again!!).


13  Send and receive more (!!) love letters.

14  Memorize a favourite poem.

15  Indulge in cigarettes, red wine and a classic novel au plein air.
Glamorous!

16 Learn to love my tummy (or at least make some good progress).
I used to hate my body. Some days are still hard, full of self-loathing. But it’s a process.


17 Kiss, and really, really enjoy it.
I’ve had some bad kissing experiences that I want to make up for. I look forward to it!

18 Boudoir photos!

19 Go on a long solo hike.

20 Get my first “outside” writing job + author a guest post for someone else’s blog.

Do you have a similar list? What are your goals, dreams and aspirations?

About etchedintin

| Rebecca | I love sparkles, books and making people feel good about themselves. | Writer @ etched in tin | Media Consultant and Co-facilitator for The Selectively Silent Child |
This entry was posted in Goals and Aspirations, Rebecca and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 20 Before 20 [Updated for the last time until I turn 20!]

  1. Louis says:

    I love the variety of goals in here- how some seem so silly and superficial and other like major life decisions, but they’re all on the same field. I guess it helps to put things in perspective, not necessarily as “what is important” but “what do I want to do/have done?”. I think I’ll make a 20 before 20 list. But I don’t think I’m brave enough to share it.

  2. etchedintin says:

    Thank you so much for your thoughtful comment! It means a lot to me.

Leave a Reply

